Each statement is numbered to the source it was checked against. We use official sources where we can, and each statement says whether it was checked against an official or a secondary source. Sources last checked on 19 October 2026. None of it has been professionally reviewed yet: it is research checked against official and secondary sources by WONE Global, not legal or tax advice.
Filing a UK trade mark application online costs £205 for one class plus £60 for each additional class; a paper application costs £250 for one class plus £60 per additional class. UK IPO fees. The optional Right Start route costs £125 plus £30 per additional class for an initial check, and the same again to continue.
Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark: Apply · Fees · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g02.
If there are no objections or oppositions, a UK trade mark application usually takes around 3 to 4 months from filing to registration. Indicative timing stated by the UK IPO; objections or oppositions extend it.
Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark · Overview · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g03.
The UK IPO sends an examination report within 2 to 3 weeks of filing; an accepted application is published in the Trade Marks Journal, and anyone may oppose it during a 2-month period. Whether and how the opposition period can be extended is not stated on this page.
Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark: After you apply · Examination; publication and opposition · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g04.
An EU trade mark filed online with the EUIPO costs EUR 850 for one class, EUR 50 for the second class and EUR 150 for each class from the third. EUIPO fees for e-filing; a paper filing costs EUR 1,000 for one class.
Austrian Patent Office (Österreichisches Patentamt) — EU trademark · Fees · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against a secondary source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Official page of a national IP office restating EUIPO fees; the EUIPO fee page itself could not yet be checked.
The USPTO base application fee is USD 350 for each class of goods or services included in a trademark application. Federal. Additional fees can apply at filing and during examination; the surcharges were not stated on the page opened.
United States Patent and Trademark Office — How much does it cost? · Base application fee · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
The page was last updated 18 January 2025; it does not state an effective date for the fee.
Trademark applicants, registrants and parties whose domicile is outside the United States must be represented before the USPTO by an attorney qualified to practise under USPTO rules. Federal; trademark matters before the US Patent and Trademark Office.
Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School — 37 CFR 2.11 - Applicants, registrants, or parties to a proceeding whose domicile is not located within the United States or its territories · Section 2.11(a) · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Regulatory text read on the Cornell Legal Information Institute reproduction of the Code of Federal Regulations; the eCFR at ecfr.gov is the government version. Reused from us-ip-002.
The official fee for a trade mark application on Form TM-A is INR 4,500 per class for e-filing (INR 5,000 on paper) for an individual, startup or small enterprise, and INR 9,000 per class for e-filing (INR 10,000 on paper) in all other cases. Central; fee applies for each class and each mark. Renewal on Form TM-R is INR 9,000 per class for e-filing.
Office of the Controller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks (IP India) — Forms and Official Fees (Trade Marks) · Form TM-A; Form TM-R · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Cabinet Resolution No. (102) of 2025 set a new UAE trademark fee schedule, with a trademark application fee of AED 750 per class and a 50% reduction for SMEs registered under the National Program for SMEs. Federal. Reported to take effect 60 days after Official Gazette publication; a one-day examination service is listed at AED 2,250 and an opposition at AED 7,500.
ATB Legal (law firm briefing) — UAE Introduces New Trademark Fee Regime: What Businesses and IP Owners Need to Know · Fee table · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against a secondary source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Secondary source; the Ministry of Economy and Tourism service page could not yet be checked, and no separate registration fee was stated in the briefing.
Interested parties may oppose a published trademark application within 30 days of publication. Federal.
Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Article 15(2) · In force from 2 January 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from ae-ip-002.
An international trade mark application filed through the UK IPO under the Madrid Protocol must be identical to the applicant's UK application or registration, and costs a £50 UK handling fee plus WIPO fees that depend on the countries designated. The UK IPO page says Madrid can cover over 130 countries. A UK registration does not protect a mark in the EU; EU-wide protection is through an EU trade mark at the EUIPO.
Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Protecting your trade mark abroad · Madrid Protocol; European Union · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g07.
An international trade mark application under the Madrid System carries a WIPO basic fee of CHF 653 for a black and white mark or CHF 903 for a mark in colour, plus a complementary fee of CHF 100 per designated member and a supplementary fee of CHF 100 per class beyond three, unless the member charges an individual fee instead. All fees are paid in Swiss francs. Applicants from least developed countries receive a 90% reduction in the basic fee. Office of origin handling fees are additional.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) — Filing International Trademark Applications: WIPO Fees and Payments · Fees · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
The Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property has applied to the United Kingdom since 7 July 1884. The Convention is the basis for priority claims from a first filing in another member state.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — Paris Convention: contracting parties · United Kingdom row · In force from 7 July 1884 · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g25.
An applicant who first filed the same trade mark in a Paris Convention or WTO member within the previous 6 months can claim that earlier filing date as priority in Singapore. Applies only where the foreign filing was the applicant's first filing for that mark.
Intellectual Property Office of Singapore (IPOS) — Introduction to Trade Marks · Claiming priority · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from sg-ip-002.
An EU trade mark obtained from the EUIPO through one application gives uniform protection throughout the EU, including France, on an all-or-nothing basis; the basic filing fee is EUR 850 for 10 years' protection for one mark. Renewal was not stated on the page opened. National French marks are an alternative or complement.
European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) — Where to register · EU trade mark · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from fr-ip-005.
An EU trade mark is valid for ten years from registration and can be renewed for further ten-year periods. EU trade marks registered by the EUIPO.
Austrian Patent Office (Österreichisches Patentamt) — EU trademark · Term of protection · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against a secondary source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Official page of a national IP office restating EUIPO fees; the EUIPO fee page itself could not yet be checked.
A US federal trademark application can be based on existing use of the mark in commerce or on a bona fide intention to use it; an intent-to-use mark is not registered until the applicant files a verified statement that the mark is in use. Federal (Lanham Act). Filings under 15 USC 1126 (foreign registrations) and Madrid Protocol extensions follow separate rules.
Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School — 15 US Code 1051 - Application for registration; verification · Subsections (a), (b) and (d) · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Statutory text read on the Cornell Legal Information Institute reproduction of the United States Code; the official text is published at uscode.house.gov. Reused from us-ip-001.
A UAE trademark registration under Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 protects the mark for ten years from the filing date, renewable for similar periods; the Decree-Law has applied since 2 January 2022. Federal; applies across the UAE including free zones.
Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Articles 21(1) and 61 · In force from 2 January 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from ae-ip-001.
The Madrid Protocol entered into force for the United Kingdom on 1 December 1995. UK ratification deposited 6 April 1995.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — Madrid Protocol: contracting parties · United Kingdom row · In force from 1 December 1995 · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g08.
The Madrid Protocol entered into force for the United States on 2 November 2003. International trademark registration through WIPO; the USPTO examines US designations.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) — WIPO-Administered Treaties: Contracting Parties, Madrid Protocol · Entry for the United States of America · In force from 2 November 2003 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from us-ip-003.
The Madrid Protocol has been in force for India since 8 July 2013. Instrument deposited 8 April 2013.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — India: WIPO Lex member profile · Treaties: Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement · In force from 8 July 2013 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from in-ip-003.
The UAE acceded to the Madrid Protocol on the international registration of marks by Federal Decree No. 67 of 2021. Federal.
Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Preamble · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Stated in the preamble of the Trademarks Decree-Law; the Ministry's e-services page links to WIPO Madrid e-filing. Not checked against WIPO's own membership page. Reused from ae-ip-004.
The UK IPO will not register marks that describe the goods or services, are too common or non-distinctive, are offensive or misleading, consist of a generic shape, or use national flags or official emblems without permission; a mark may also be refused if it is the same as or similar to an earlier mark for the same goods or services. Summary of the UK IPO's plain-language guidance on registrability.
Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark: What you can and cannot register · Whole page · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from gb-ip-g06.
Any interested party may apply to cancel a registered trademark that has not been used for five consecutive years, unless use was prevented by emergency circumstances. Federal.
Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Article 24(3) · In force from 2 January 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from ae-ip-003.
The DPMA warns that it does not send invoices or payment requests for trademark applications or renewals, and that private companies send misleading payment demands.
Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA) — Marken · Hinweis: irreführende Zahlungsaufforderungen · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed
Reused from de-ip-012.