Skip to main content
Industries

The rules and risks of your industry, across borders.

Licences, value chains and the questions businesses in each industry ask first, with the services that usually apply.

Ask about your industry

Licences, approvals and first steps.

Ask WONE Global what applies to your industry in a market, with the sources shown.

Ask WONE Global→
People & firms

The WONE Global Partners in each market.

Named senior professionals, each admitted as the one firm for a service in their country, and the firms they lead.

For professional firms

Lead your service in your market.

One Partner per service, per country, admitted by review against published criteria.

Open Partnerships→
Insights

Sourced answers on doing business across borders.

Every statement is dated and sourced, and says whether it has been checked or professionally reviewed.

Ask WONE Global

Ask your question.

Answers come from statements checked against official sources, with the sources shown. Research, not advice.

Ask WONE Global→

Setting up and running a company · Knowledge centre · 02 of 6

Incorporation steps and company registries

Incorporation is fully online in the UK, Singapore, France and India, notarial in Germany and licence-driven in the UAE and Saudi Arabia. Some registries issue tax and social security registrations in the same filing, which shortens the path to trading. Official fees are modest where stated, but professional, notarial and licence costs can be much higher.

Source-checked research100% of statements checked against a source69 checked against an official source4 checked against a secondary sourceChecked 2026-10-19Not yet professionally reviewed

Incorporation is fully online in the UK, Singapore, France and India, notarial in Germany and licence-driven in the UAE and Saudi Arabia. Some registries issue tax and social security registrations in the same filing, which shortens the path to trading. Official fees are modest where stated, but professional, notarial and licence costs can be much higher.

Online registries with bundled registrations

India's SPICe+ web form covers name reservation and incorporation and also issues director identification numbers, PAN and TAN, provident fund and state insurance registrations and GST, and starts a bank account. In Saudi Arabia, incorporating an LLC through the Saudi Business Center opens the company's file with the labour ministry and registers it with the tax authority, social insurance, the national address service and the chamber of commerce.

In the UK, registering a private limited company costs GBP 100 online, and every company must have an appropriate registered office address (not a PO box) and a registered email address. Singapore charges a registration fee of S$315, a company can start with S$1 of share capital, and every foreign business must use a registered corporate service provider. In France all formalities go through the online Guichet des formalités des entreprises.12345678

Notary and licence-led systems

A German GmbH needs share capital of at least EUR 25,000 and comes into existence only on entry in the commercial register, with the application filed electronically through a notary. In the UAE, the mainland steps run from choosing the activity and legal form, through trade name registration and initial approval, to signing the memorandum of association, securing a physical address and collecting the licence from the emirate's economic authority, for example the Department of Economy and Tourism in Dubai. The fee must be paid within 30 days of the payment voucher.

In the United States, companies are formed under state law. Delaware, for example, requires every business entity to keep a registered agent with a physical street address in the state.910111213

Registry, route and stated official cost1111227563109813
MarketRegistry or licensing bodyRouteStated fee or capitalSource
IndiaMinistry of Corporate AffairsSPICe+ web form with bundled tax and social registrationsNot stated hereMCA
UAE mainlandEmirate economic department (for example Dubai DET)Trade name, initial approval, MoA, address, licenceFee payable within 30 days of voucheru.ae
Saudi ArabiaMinistry of Commerce (Saudi Business Center)Online LLC incorporation with automatic registrationsSee market guideMinistry of Commerce
SingaporeACRAOnline through a registered corporate service providerS$315 fee; S$1 minimum capitalACRA
United KingdomCompanies HouseOnlineGBP 100GOV.UK
GermanyCommercial register (local court)Electronic filing through a notaryEUR 25,000 minimum capital (GmbH)GmbHG
FranceGuichet des formalités des entreprises (INPI)OnlineSee market guideService-Public
United States (Delaware)Division of CorporationsCertificate filed under state law; registered agent requiredSee market guideDelaware Division of Corporations

Decisions to make

  • Which registrations come with incorporation, and which must be made separately?12India and Saudi Arabia bundle tax and social security registrations; elsewhere they are separate steps before hiring or invoicing.
  • Do we have a physical address that meets the registry's rules?411The UK bars PO boxes as registered offices and the UAE requires a physical address, registered with Ejari in Dubai.
  • How much capital must be paid in before registration?96A German GmbH needs EUR 25,000 share capital, while a Singapore company can start with S$1.
  • Do we need a local agent or provider to file?713Singapore requires a registered corporate service provider for foreign businesses and Delaware a registered agent.

Documents usually needed

  • Proposed company name and activity description
  • Constitution or articles (notarised in Germany)
  • Identity documents and addresses for directors, shareholders and beneficial owners
  • Registered office lease or address evidence (Ejari in Dubai)
  • Parent company documents legalised or apostilled for corporate shareholders

Common mistakes

  • Treating UAE initial approval as permission to trade
  • Missing the 30-day payment window for a UAE licence fee
  • Using a PO box or virtual address that the registry does not accept
  • Planning German incorporation without allowing for notary scheduling and capital payment

Questions businesses ask

Can a foreign business incorporate in Singapore without a local provider?

No. ACRA requires every foreign business to engage a registered corporate service provider to register in Singapore.7

Does incorporating in India also register the company for tax?

Yes. The SPICe+ form issues PAN and TAN and covers provident fund, state insurance and GST registration, with professional tax registration in some states.1

What this guide does not yet confirm

These points need checking with a qualified local professional before you rely on them.

  • UAE mainland and free zone government fees were not confirmed on an official page.
  • Official incorporation fees for India, Germany (notary and court fees) and Saudi investment registration were not compiled here.
  • Timelines for incorporation were not stated on the official pages opened and are not given.
  • US states other than Delaware were not researched.

Sources and review status

Each statement is numbered to the source it was checked against. We use official sources where we can, and each statement says whether it was checked against an official or a secondary source. Sources last checked on 19 October 2026. None of it has been professionally reviewed yet: it is research checked against official and secondary sources by WONE Global, not legal or tax advice.

  1. SPICe+ is the Ministry of Corporate Affairs' integrated web form for incorporating a company, with Part A for name reservation and Part B covering incorporation, director identification numbers, PAN and TAN, EPFO and ESIC registration, GSTIN and opening a bank account, filed with linked eMoA, eAoA and AGILE-PRO-S forms. Professional tax registration through the form applies to new companies in Maharashtra and Karnataka only (a state-level registration). Central filing.

    Ministry of Corporate Affairs — SPICe+ video audio text · Part A; Part B; linked forms · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim in-establish-009.

  2. On incorporation through the Saudi Business Center, the company's file is opened with the Ministry of Human Resources and Social Development and the company is registered with ZATCA, social insurance, the Saudi Post national address service and the chamber of commerce. Outputs of the Ministry of Commerce LLC incorporation service.

    Ministry of Commerce — Establish a limited liability company (e-service details) · Outputs of the service · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim sa-establish-016.

  3. Registering a private limited company with Companies House costs £100 online or through software and £124 on paper. Private companies limited by shares or guarantee; fees as listed on the Companies House fees page on the check date.

    Companies House — Companies House fees · Incorporating a private company · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    The page does not give the date from which these fees apply; it was updated 25 September 2026. Reused from market guide claim gb-establish-001.

  4. Under the Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Act 2023 every company must have an appropriate address as its registered office (a PO Box is not allowed), give Companies House a registered email address, and confirm it is formed for a lawful purpose. Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Act 2023 measures. Existing companies supply the registered email address with their next confirmation statement.

    Companies House — Get ready for changes to UK company law (Companies House blog) · Registered office address; registered email address; lawful purpose statement · In force from 4 March 2024 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    The blog post was written in advance and described 4 March 2024 as a target date dependent on secondary legislation; actual commencement was not confirmed on a separate opened page. Reused from market guide claim gb-establish-010.

  5. ACRA lists a registration fee of S$315 for a company. Fee for incorporating a local company as shown on ACRA's business structure page; corporate service provider charges are separate.

    Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) — Choosing a business structure · Company (e.g. Pte Ltd) - fees · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim sg-establish-006.

  6. A company with share capital needs at least S$1 in share capital to start, and may issue shares in multiple currencies as its constitution allows. No higher general minimum; sector regulators (for example in financial services) may require more.

    Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) — Deciding on share capital and share types · Share capital · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim sg-establish-005.

  7. Every foreign business must engage a registered corporate service provider to register in Singapore. Applies to all four set-up routes ACRA lists for existing foreign businesses (representative office, subsidiary, branch, re-domiciliation).

    Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) — Ways to set up in Singapore · Corporate service provider requirement · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim sg-establish-007.

  8. Since 1 January 2023 all company creation, modification and cessation formalities must be completed online through the Guichet des formalités des entreprises, which replaced the former business formalities centres (CFE). All companies, whatever their legal form or activity. The portal is operated by INPI (formalites.entreprises.gouv.fr).

    Service Public Entreprendre (DILA, Prime Minister's Office) — Guichet des formalités des entreprises · Présentation du guichet · In force from 1 January 2023 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    The service page does not name the operator in text; the portal formalites.entreprises.gouv.fr carries the INPI logo and the page links to INPI e-procédures accounts. Reused from market guide claim fr-establish-009.

  9. A GmbH must have share capital of at least EUR 25,000. Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH); the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) variant may be formed with less (see de-establish-005).

    Bundesministerium der Justiz / Bundesamt für Justiz (gesetze-im-internet.de) — § 5 GmbHG – Stammkapital; Geschäftsanteil · § 5 Abs. 1 GmbHG · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim de-establish-001.

  10. A GmbH comes into existence and gains full legal capacity only on entry in the commercial register, and the registration application is filed electronically through a notary. GmbH and UG; the service description lists required documents including the articles, shareholder list, managing directors' declarations and a domestic business address. Fees depend on the work involved and are not stated.

    FIM-Portal (Föderales Informationsmanagement), service description supplied by Rheinland-Pfalz — Eintragung einer Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH) in das Handelsregister · Sections 'Volltext', 'Erforderliche Unterlagen', 'Verfahrensablauf'; legal bases § 12 HGB, § 7 GmbHG · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Official federal service-catalogue entry contributed by a state administration; the legal requirements are federal. Reused from market guide claim de-establish-007.

  11. The UAE Government portal lists the mainland set-up steps as choosing the activity and legal form, registering a trade name with the local economic department, obtaining initial approval, signing the memorandum of association and, where needed, a local service agent agreement, securing a physical address, obtaining any sector approvals and collecting the licence. Mainland businesses. Initial approval confirms the government has no objection but does not authorise trading. The licence fee must be paid within 30 days of the payment voucher or the application is cancelled. Dubai requires lease registration with Ejari.

    UAE Government portal (u.ae) — Steps to start a business on the mainland · Standard steps · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    The page also states that businesses wholly owned by non-GCC residents need a UAE local service agent. This sits uneasily with the 100% foreign ownership rule for commercial companies and probably concerns particular forms such as professional licences or branches; confirm with the emirate's economic department.

  12. Mainland licences are issued by each emirate's economic authority: the Department of Economic Development in Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Ras Al Khaimah, the Department of Economy and Tourism in Dubai, the Economic Development Department in Sharjah and Fujairah Municipality. Mainland only; free zone entities are licensed by their free zone authority.

    UAE Government portal (u.ae) — Steps to start a business on the mainland · Local economic authorities · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

  13. Delaware law requires every business entity to have and maintain a registered agent in Delaware with a physical street address in the state. State rule (Delaware). The agent may be a Delaware-resident individual or a business entity authorised to do business in Delaware; other states set their own registered agent rules.

    State of Delaware, Division of Corporations — How to Form a New Business Entity · Registered agent section · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from market guide claim us-establish-005.

Questions on this topic

13 statements on incorporation steps and company registries

WONE Global Intelligence

Ask about incorporation steps and company registries

Choose a question or ask your own. Answers draw on WONE Global's market guides and live official sources, and are set out in clear sections: the answer, the rules, the figures, what it means for you, the risks and who can help.

Intelligence windowLive official sources and WONE Global guides
Context

How answers are set out

  1. The direct answer
  2. The rules that apply, with their sources named
  3. Figures, rates and dates
  4. What it means for you, the risks and the next steps
  5. What is not confirmed, and who can help

Research, not legal or tax advice. Before acting, confirm with a qualified professional in each country involved. Sign in to save an answer.

Contact WONE Global

Discuss your requirement with an WONE Global Partner.